This title made me think of the book “Holes”.

Great book. The movie was not so great, but the book was one of my favorites in grade school. Anyway…back to the post.

Matt and I have had the idea to mount our television on the wall since we moved into this house. The family room where our TV lives is a little awkward and there isn’t a definite place our little friend. So, we decided, in an effort to make the most of our space, we would mount the TV on the most out of the way wall. We also thought it would be a great idea for the TV to be able to swing out and around so that we could watch TV from the kitchen (mostly so that Matt will have something to watch whilst he does the dishes!). It also seemed like a cheap alternative to getting a new entertainment center.  We priced out the mounts and Matt decided that the best option would be to buy online. The order was placed and the waiting began. The items arrived and systems were a “go” for Project Put TV on the Wall. Now, to give you a little back story, this was the weekend before we would have lots of people over to see our house for the first time. The plan was for me to head out to shop for all the little things we needed to make our house seem homey (read – not gross and empty) and Matt would begin on the TV.

So, on my way home from an extremely long shopping trip, I called Matt to see how the progress was going. In short, Matt told me that he had cut the hole for the mount, but didn’t have the correct materials to complete the project and he would finish it later, maybe in a few weeks. So, after I just spend hours buying things to make our house seem homey, my husband was telling me that we would most likely have a gigantic hole in our family room for the party. Fabulous.

So after a few minutes of pleading with him to drive to Home Depot to see if they had the cable (he was certain they did not), I felt only slightly better about the situation.

Well, it turns out Home Depot DID sell the cable he needed. Lesson learned, don’t always trust the interweb for store stock info. I could get back to stressing about other stuff for the party. Our weekend progresses and Matt is up in the attic with his little miner’s light running cable from the  TV on one side of the house to the antenna on the other. All of a sudden I hear a crashing noise. I start frantically running around the house looking up at the ceiling and yelling for Matt’s location. I hear his voice, a little too clearly, coming from the bedroom. When I get there, this is what I find:

Matt had slipped up in the attic (he was fine) and put his foot through the ceiling of our bedroom. Awesome. There was just no way I could get around having a hole in the drywall of our house for this party. Luckily, it was in our bedroom and on the 12 foot end of the ceiling near the door, so hopefully no one will notice, right? (Oddly enough, Matt’s dad did the exact same thing at their house a few months ago. And I mean exact, it was even in the same room! I’m hoping that this is just a one time deal and not actually in Matt’s genes!)

After all the holes were made and all the work was done, it was great to have the TV mounted with zero cords showing. I guess sometimes it is just 1 step forward, 2 steps back! (Sorry for the really crappy pictures. I took them at night.)

Watch as the TV pulls out and away from the wall.

And in a move that shocks and awes, turns toward the kitchen, allowing the kitchen slaves to view Project Runway (or whatever the popular TV choice is at the time!). Of course, the TV doesn’t do this on it’s own. Someone (another one of our slaves) has to go over and manually move it. It’s super cool and we love it. I think it was totally worth having a hole in our bedroom ceiling!

