We knew that we wanted to try to put lights under the cabinets, but we didn’t know how to tackle this project. We actually didn’t even know where to start. We went to Home Depot to just check out what different kinds of lighting options were available. I was totally overwhelmed by the many different types. Then Matt, who had done a little more research than I had, started asking me all these questions. Do you want puck lighting? Florescent? Xenon? LED? Should they fade? Do you want a dimmer? My answer to all of these was, “Oh crap, I need to do more research.”

Luckily for me, I am married to a man who is a super whiz at using the interweb. A few days after our fruitless journey to Home Depot, Matt had made a decision about what type of lighting we were to get and needed an opinion on a dimmer switch. Now, this I can do. Unfortunately for me, Matt already had his mind set on what he wanted and he really didn’t want my opinion, he just wanted to show off his great find. But, that’s alright. I have decided that we each need to have ownership in these house projects. He has complete and total ownership of the under cabinet lighting.  I will do nothing more than oohh and ahhh when it is done. So, he is given full freedom with his choices (within reason). He knows what our general taste level is and is pretty good at sticking to what we want. So, the moral of the story, I am learning to let go of some of the little decisions so that he can have ownership, too. However, I will not let him have an entire room in the house to decorate as he wishes. We are still battling on this one. He wants to decorate the living room. And I said no. I told him he could decorate the garage. Is that wrong?

Anyway, back to the matter at hand. Here is the lighting he choose for the project.

He bought it on Amazon. We really should buy stock in Amazon.  This lighting will fill the entire length of the cabinet underside, creating a more uniform output instead of the concentrated output from puck lighting. Also, as you can see from the last bullet point on the box, it installs easily. Always a plus.

I was excited about the lighting. Matt was excited about this.

The dimmer switch (from Home Depot). It’s a button on the bottom and then it has up and down buttons to adjust the intensity. If you squint at the picture, you can see that there is a little green LED above the intensity buttons. This tells you where you are on the intensity spectrum.

The first step in creating a nice under cabinet lighting ambiance in your house is to determine what you are working with.

I really have no idea what he is doing in this picture, but he has tape in his hand, so it must be serious. I just had to take a picture. So, once it was…all taped…?…he moved on to the actual installation.

Before the supplies arrived, the prepared all the electrical work. Now, just so you know, I asked Matt to write this post because I have no idea what he actually did, but he said he didn’t want to and that he would write a post later correcting all of my interpretations of his work. Does that make sense to you?? Here are some shots of him putting in the first light unit.

We had to wait another day for the rest of the units to arrive, but let me tell you, it was really fun checking out how the lights worked just with this one tiny one. I do know that Matt had to “daisy chain” the wires up and over the cabinets in order to get them to the other side of the microwave for the rest of the lighting in order for them to all come on with one switch. Nothing says ghetto like having two switches for under cabinet lighting.

It actually only took him about 45 minutes to install the other lights. Here are great pictures of our kitchen with the lights off and then with them on.

Super cool. We need to add trim and molding to our cabinets to hide the lighting and to add a touch of class to our kitchen. Also, please try to ignore our open cabinets. The doors are currently being painted (almost done!).

Overall, the under cabinet lighting project was a fairly easy one. I absolutely love love love it! Next up…finishing the cabinets and a subway tile back splash!

