Matt was away this past weekend on a retreat at church. They have a retreat in the spring and in the fall. For some reason, when he is gone on these retreats, I get a hankering to plant something. It started in March of last year.  I bought my first herb kit. I had never grown anything before and I thought that  any type of garden had to be put on hold until we had a yard. Oh, how wrong I was! I was introduced to the world of container gardening. We had a little porch at our apartment in Cape Canaveral and after I bought that herb kit, I was hooked. The porch quickly filled up with containers of all different types of veggies and herbs.

Sadly, after a few months of coddling them, most of the plants either died or just stopped growing. I really don’t know what I did wrong. I woke up one morning to find my pepper plant looking like this:

We did get a ton of basil out of the experience as well as these beauties.

So, this retreat weekend was no different. My plan this weekend was to work on the kitchen. Surprisingly, I finished painting the base cabinets a lot faster than I anticipated, so my mind turned to herbs. Some of our dearest friends, Chris and Mandy, are excellent farmers. Mandy can make anything grow. She is a loving soul who always has tips for us newbies. One tip she did tell us was to always grow from seed. You never know what kind of surprises you might get in the dirt or the plant if you buy half grown plants from Home Depot or Target (which is where I go for all my plant needs. I still have a lot to learn from Mandy). So, we always try to plant from seed.

Here are the herbs I chose:

Since the dirt in our yard is super sandy, I can’t plant anything directly in the dirt. Maybe this summer we will build some veggie beds, but for now, I am sticking to small containers with organic potting soil. I am always on the hunt for cheap and cute containers.  I really don’t like paying $6 for containers, especially when I need to buy 8 of them. Luckily for me, the Target dollar spot pulled through! I found these adorable little pails that are the perfect size for what I need! And they were only $1! It’s a win-win-win.

Since I can’t rely on remembering what I planted where (especially since all the container are exactly the same and I don’t know what most of these guys are supposed to look like when they sprout) I wrote the name of the herb on the bottom of the pail with a silver sharpie. It’s fool proof. So, when you come over and ask for some fresh thyme, I won’t give you spearmint. See, it’s a win for you too!

I would love for these little guys to reside in a sunny kitchen window. But, unfortunately, no such thing exists in our kitchen (yet…). So, they are sitting in the living room in the sun next to the cabinet doors. Who knows where they will eventually go, but here they sit for now.

Because I know that you are sooo interested in my herbs, I think that I will keep you updated on their status.  So, here they are, Herbs Week 0:

As a side note, I wanted to share with you what our dining and living rooms looked like this weekend. I couldn’t even fit all of the doors into the picture!

Holy cabinets, Batman!

