I cannot believe that it has been almost a month since Part 1 of Painting the Cabinets! It does seem like I have been painting for years and I never truly believed that I would ever have doors on my cabinets again.

We left off with the doors all laid out and ready for primer. Since we had decided to use oil based paint for the cabinets, we needed to prime with an oil based primer. This also meant that we needed to use natural fiber brushes. Apparently natural fiber brushes keep their shape better with the thinner, looser oil based paint. Of course, we use nothing but the best brushes:

After the doors had been primed, we had to sand the primer. This ensures that we get the smoothest, as close to professional look as possible.  It also means a huge mess. I sanded and vacuumed until my fingers almost wore away, but it was totally worth it. Now on to the fun stuff, getting the real paint on the cabinets!

During the painting process, the weather in Florida dropped so we relocated the doors to inside.

Then, I painted (cleaned, sanded, primed, sanded, and painted 2 coats!) the base of the cabinets while Matt was away on retreat. This really changed the whole look and gave us an idea of how the kitchen would look when it was all said and done.

After the final coats of paint were on, I had to sand again to get some little drips or imperfections out of the finish. This meant yet another coat of paint. I am so over painting cabinets. If we ever do this again, we are hiring someone to do it.

Here we go! Time to put the doors on!

Did you notice in the above picture that we have an inordinate amount of Pam. What can I say, I just can’t turn down Buy One Get One Free!

And, the moment you’ve been waiting for, the the kitchen with the white cabinets! Ok, so maybe we have only been waiting for that…

As you can tell from the picture, we still need to finish the drawer fronts. We still haven’t figured out a plan for getting the glue off of them. Any ideas?

Tomorrow…Open Shelving, Part 2!

