As many of you know, this is the week before the Kentucky Derby. Matt and I are hosting our 2nd Derby Party this year, the first one at our house. While it is very exciting, the preparations for the party are also exhausting. So, this week I thought I would share some of my past Derby experiences with you.

If you live in Louisville, you have to go to the Derby at least once in our life. In 2006, I had the opportunity to go. But, since I was a poor college student, I could only afford the infield (still expensive at $40!).  Look, there are the twin spires!

Look how crowded it was! If you squint, I’m sure you can see someone really famous like Nick Lachey in Millionaire’s Row. (I actually don’t even know which on is Millionaire’s Row!).

There were lots of people dressed in strange get-ups trying to get the attention of the local media. Like this guy dressed as a jockey…and his horse.

When it came down to it, it was hot and there was no shade. We had to arrive super early in order to get a piece of grass and we all couldn’t get up at the same time because we might lose our spot of grass. There were lots of drunk people and this was the closest we got to see the horses:

We watched most of the actual Run for the Roses on the big screens and stood on tippy toe to see the horses whoosh by. It was wonderful to experience once, but I’m not sure I would go back to the infield for the Derby.

The best part of the day were these folks.

Some of my besties from back home. This was just a few weeks before I moved away from Louisville to Florida.  It’s hard to believe that was 4 years ago! We weren’t even old enough to order Mint Juleps! I miss them dearly!

Tomorrow, I’ll share with you how we brought the Derby fun to all of our Florida friends. They didn’t know what they were missing!

