Lately, several of the books I’ve been reading have been made into movies.  Now, I have read all of the Harry Potter books and I own all of the released Harry Potter movies. I love Harry. And, while the movies have been different than the books, I have been completely satisfied with most of the movies.

But, I don’t know if it’s the caliber of books I’ve been reading or the quality of the movies, but I have been really disappointed with the movies of the following books.

**SPOILER ALERT** I won’t go into too much detail about the books, but if you are overly sensitive about someone ruining books/movies, don’t read it!

My Sister’s Keeper, by Jodi Picoult. I read this book a few months ago and I have been dying to watch the movie. The book was pretty good, really sad, but pretty good. It’s about a family with daughter is dying of Leukemia and another daughter who is essentially being used to keep her sister alive though bone marrow transplants, blood transfusions, etc. The book takes place when the sisters are 13 and 11 and the younger sister has had enough of being poked and prodded and sues her parents for medical emancipation, knowing that this will result in the death of her sister. Book Rating: 4/5

The movie was actually pretty good and stayed fairly close to the book until the end. Because the ending was so drastically different from the book, it made me kinda dislike the entire movie. And having Alec Baldwin play the young stud of a lawyer?? Come on.  Movie Rating: 3/5

Dear John, By Nicholas Sparks. Ahh, Nicholas Sparks. As my friend Courtney says, Nicholas Sparks is to adults what Lurlene McDaniel is to preteens. Couldn’t agree more. And I loved Lurlene McDaniel.  Anywho. This book was your typical Nicholas Sparks book, but a little better. Sad, yes. Overly sappy, a little. Unrealistic view on dating/relationships, yes. But, what this book did have is the growth of the relationship between the main character, John, and his father, who has undiagnosed Asperger’s Syndrome.  Book rating: 3/5

The movie changed several major parts of the book. And again, the ending. I guess it is really important for the last impression people have when they leave the movie theater is happy and uplifted. But, are these changes worth changing the entire message of the book? I guess my hopes were too high. Movie: 2.5/5

The Time Traveler’s Wife, by Audrey Niffenegger.  I really enjoyed this book.  It took a little bit to get used to the way it was written. The author jumped around a little bit (understandable, he traveled through time!), but once I adjusted, I found that I really enjoyed her style of writing. It was so sweet and sad.  Although the circumstances of the main character was really unrealistic, the relationship between Henry and Clare, his wife, was really a true love story, with hardship, devotion, tragedy, joys, frustrations, and kindness.  Overall, I really enjoyed it. Book review: 4.5/5

I was really curious as to how they would work out all the details of this book in a movie. And, I was, for the most part, pleasantly surprised. They stuck to the main story lines and didn’t veer really far off in any direction. While I did enjoy the movie, I do not think I would have enjoyed it as much if I had not read the book. But who knows. Book Review: 4/5

Eat, Pray, Love, by Elizabeth Gilbert. I loved this book. I read it as a book club book with a couple of my friends and we were all just bursting with love for this book at our meeting. This book, a true story, was about Elizabeth Gilbert’s year of life discovery in Italy, India, and Indonesia.  I loved when she was in Italy because Matt and I had just been there and I could completely understand her enthrallment with the food. But, the real reason that we all loved this book so much was because it made us all want to search deep down in ourselves and find our true purpose in life. While it is unrealistic to take a year off from your entire life to travel the world, we can all evaluate what we are doing and compare that with what we want to be doing.  Excellent book. Book Review: 5/5

The movie comes out in a few weeks and I can’t wait. In my opinion, Julia Roberts is perfect to portray Elizabeth Gilbert!

The Lovely Bones, by Alice Sebold. I am currently reading this book.  I read it in high school, but only remember a few of the details. And, I don’t think I finished it in high school. So far, it is an excellent book, if you can get over the fact that it is mostly told from the perspective of a girl who was brutally murdered. She is watching her family deal with the events after her death and their search to find her killer. I’ll keep you updated and let you know how the book and the movie turn out!

Next up:

