The book this week, Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone, is making true on two of my “Fall To Do List” items, reading a book a week and reading all Harry Potter books before the next movie in November. Nothing better than multi-tasking!

As I have stated on this blog numerous times, I love everything Harry Potter. I never get bored with the books or the movies. (By the way, have you seen the new trailer for Harry Potter 7 – Part 1? It’s incredible!) So, I am really excited to reread the complete series for the first time in my adulthood.

Just as a side note, if you have not read the books (ha-like those people exist!) and are planning on reading them, don’t read this post. I’d be spoiling it for you!

For those of you who know nothing about Harry Potter, the gist of the first book is this: an orphaned eleven year old boy living in London finds out that he is a wizard and is accepted to a wizarding school called Hogwarts.  At Hogwarts, he makes some great friends, Ron and Hermione, and settles in to classes learning about the wizarding world. A few months into the term, he learns that his parents were killed by an evil wizard named Voldemort who actually tried to kill Harry as well, but something about Harry caused this very evil wizard to become extremely weakened, almost destroying Voldemort. While Harry is at school, he, along with Ron and Hermione, believe that Voldemort is trying to make a comeback. In the end, Harry saves the day and stops Voldemort from gaining access to an elixir that will make him immortal, thus bringing him back to power.

The story is the classic battle of good vs. evil. It is a little unbelievable that Harry and his comrades, only 11 years old, get past spells and puzzles meant for the most experienced of wizards, not to mention Harry defeating Voldemort.  Otherwise, the story is rich in storytelling details that make you want to drift into Harry Potter land. J.K. Rowling did such a phenomenal job immersing the readers into the story that I am always sorry when a HP book ends. For me, this is the true sign of a good book. If you have become such dear friends with the characters in the book that you hang on to the last pages because you don’t want that friendship to end.

Every time I read this book I pick up new details. Did you know that the Mirror of Erised’s inscription is actually a sentence spelled backwards?? It says “Erised stra ehru oyt ube cafru oyt on wohsi“, which, if read backwards, says “I show not your face but your heart’s desire”. I have never thought to read it backwards, I just read the nonsense and kept reading. How clever to have the inscription on the mirror an almost mirror image! Speaking of the mirror, I get a little worked up every time Harry sees his family for the first time, even if it’s only an image of them.

Also, at the end of the book, when Harry asks Dumbledore why Voldemort wanted to kill him as a baby, Dumbledore tells him that Harry is too young to hear the answer. I really didn’t remember that question being asked or Dumbledore’s answer. But, now I know that Dumbledore is taking about the prophesy (heard in Book 5)!! I am amazed at how Rowling was starting to outline the big picture, even in the first book!

All in all, I was not disappointed with this book. I can’t wait to read the next one!

Have you read this book? What did you think?

